Welcome to the AudioShark Forums.
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 69
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    263
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    This is good to hear about NA-11S1.. especially since one of the several SACD players I experimented with over the years was an SA11S2.
    It had build quality beyond most anything I've ever seen, but the sound, well, just wasn't my cup of tea shall we say.
    Ray

    Magnepan 20.7
    Conrad Johnson ART Monos - McIntosh MC452
    Conrad Johnson GAT
    Meitner MA 1
    Custom server running J-River MC19
    Dual Synology 1512+ NAS 6+6TB

  2. #22
    Audioshark Founder/Admin
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    7,337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Quick update: I was playing around with the various inputs and filters today on the NA11S1. I found the USB with Filter setting 2, DC filtration off and Noise shaper off as my favorite combination. That combination bettered the Ethernet ever so slightly. It gave a much more analog sound with smoother highs and a fuller sound.
    Mike

    Industry Affiliation............Lumin Dealer

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Dom. Rep.
    Posts
    1,925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Nice !!
    Nelson
    ______________________
    Disclosure of Industry Participation
    Co-Founder and Managing Director of Audionirvanard
    DISTRIBUTOR OF :
    Audio Research
    Sonus Faber
    VAC
    Wilson Audio
    D'Agostino
    McIntosh
    AMG / Clearaudio / Canton/ Nordost / MIT Cables/ Shunyata
    Stillpoints / Klaudio RCM / ARIA Music Servers

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,345
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Fabulous review Mike! I just wish I had one of those or any of the models Marantz has. As for CD sales going downward and getting rid of them, I say bunk. I still buy CDs. In fact, as long as there are CDPs there will be CDs and the used market is good right now. In my audio world there is room and purpose for many foerms of music media. I've known many who would say that Marantz sound is one of the best in vintage audio. Well judging just from my CDP5004 I'd say the same holds true today. Marantz just plain makes some of the best gear. I'm really impressed with Marantz. One thing about Marantz that I think lends to their great sound and gear is the fact that they only make audio gear. They don't get involved in other ventures spreading themselves too thin.
    "Don't follow leaders and watch your parking meters" - Bob Dylan

  5. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    8,467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    ...They don't make skidoos and ski jets?
    ...Yamaha does, and motor boats, pianos, guitars, motorcycles, synthesizers, ....

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    808/415
    Posts
    109
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Mike......a very nice review!!

    on a side note....since you've been in contact with Ken Ishiwata.......I don't know if he has any pull on what comes to the US market, but we want the silver/champagne versions in the Reference Series in the US. ie...PM11S3 etc. My email to Marantz was a very disappointing "no".

  7. #27
    Audioshark Founder/Admin
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    7,337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 'cisco View Post
    Mike......a very nice review!!

    on a side note....since you've been in contact with Ken Ishiwata.......I don't know if he has any pull on what comes to the US market, but we want the silver/champagne versions in the Reference Series in the US. ie...PM11S3 etc. My email to Marantz was a very disappointing "no".
    Thanks! I asked before I ordered mine and was told "no" too. I love that champagne color.
    Mike

    Industry Affiliation............Lumin Dealer

  8. #28
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    8,467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 'cisco View Post
    Mike......a very nice review!!

    on a side note....since you've been in contact with Ken Ishiwata.......I don't know if he has any pull on what comes to the US market, but we want the silver/champagne versions in the Reference Series in the US. ie...PM11S3 etc. My email to Marantz was a very disappointing "no".
    Move to Japan!

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    808/415
    Posts
    109
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthStar View Post
    Move to Japan!
    mmmmmm.........Domo arigato

  10. #30
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    8,467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Marantz NA-11S1 Reference Network Audio Player and DAC Review

    "Arigato" ... "Domo"; from 'Kill Bill - Vol. 1'.


 

 
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)